Greenwood County

US States / H-L / Kansas / Greenwood County

Greenwood County is named for Alfred B Greenwood, who was a United States congressman from Arkansas and a commissioner of Indian Affairs.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Chase County and Lyon County

E – Coffey CountyWoodson County and Wilson County

S – Elk County

W – Butler County and Chase County


Created:  August 25, 1855                     Map of Kansas highlighting Greenwood County

County Seat:

Eureka  1855 – present


County Courthouse – Eureka 


Location:  311 Main Street / West 4th Street

Built:  1955 – 1956

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Williamson-Loebsack & Associates of Topeka

Contractor:  Dondlinger & Sons Construction Company Inc.


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story concrete and glass structure. The second story overhangs the first story and is supported by concrete pillars. On the east front is a projecting one story entrance section. The windows on the second story are vertical with brown colored panels along the bottom. There are no windows on the first story except along the west section of the building.


See:  The architect, Williamson-Loebsack & Associates of Topeka, designed courthouses in Cloud County, Ottawa County and Sumner County.


History:  In 1866 Eureka became the county seat and the first courthouse was designed by John G Haskell and constructed by John Hammond in 1871 to 1873. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1955 to 1956.




County Courthouse – Eureka






















Photos taken 2010