Kingman County

US States / H-L / Kansas / Kingman County

Kingman County is named for Samuel A Kingman, who was a member of the Wyandotte Constitutional Convention, chief justice of the Kansas Supreme Court, state librarian and the first president of the Kansas State Historical Society.


Created:  March 7, 1872

County Seat:

Kingman  1872 – present


County Courthouse – Kingman 


Location:  130 Spruce Street / East Sherman Street

Built:  1907 – 1908

Style:  Romanesque

Architect:  George P Washburn & Sons of Ottawa

Contractor:  Matheim & Walters of St. Joseph, Missouri


Description: The building faces west and is a three story red colored brick and limestone  structure. The building is rectangular with each corner having a slightly projecting square tower block with a pyramidal roof. The west front has a stone porch on the first story with balcony above. The windows are vertical and narrow with arched windows above on the second story. The center section rises to a pediment at the roof line. On the center of the roof is an octagonal cupola. The base of the building is course stone.


Note: The architect, George P Washburn & Sons, designed courthouses in Anderson County, Atchison County, Butler CountyChautaugua County, Doniphan County, Franklin County, Harper County, Miami County, Pratt County and Woodson County, and Beaver County in Oklahoma.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Kingman County Courthouse



N – Reno County

E – Sedgwick County and Sumner County

S – Harper County and Barber County

W – Barber County and Pratt County























Photos taken 2010