Anderson County

US States / H-L / Kansas / Anderson County

Anderson County is named for Joseph C Anderson, who was a member of the first Kansas Territorial Legislature and speaker of the House of Representatives.


Created:  August 25, 1855

County Seat:

Shannon  1856 – 1859

Garnett    1859 – present


County Courthouse – Garnett


Location:  100 East 4th Street / South Oak Street

Built:  1901 – 1902

Style:  Romanesque Revival

Architect:  George P Washburn

Contractor:  F H Latimer & Charles W Benning


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story dark red brick and limestone  Romanesque Revival style structure. The north front has a large arch at the entrance with recessed doorway. Above the entrance is a peaked roof with the statue of Justice. On each corner of the building are round brick towers with conical roofs. On the center of the roof is a high square brick bell tower with peaked roof. The base of the building is white limestone. The roof is hipped with red colored clay tile. In 1947, a slate roof replaced the original roof. The building is located on landscaped grounds and along the east side is the modern courthouse annex.


Note:  The cost of construction of the courthouse was $75,000.


Note: The architect, George P Washburn & Sons, designed courthouses in Atchison County, Butler County, Chautauqua County, Doniphan County, Franklin County, Harper County, Kingman County, Miami County, Pratt County and Woodson County, and Beaver County in Oklahoma.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Anderson County Courthouse



N – Franklin County

E – Linn County

S – Allen County

W – Coffey County


























Photos taken 2010