Beaver County

US States / O-U / Oklahoma / Beaver County

Beaver County is named for the Beaver River which was named for the beavers in the area.


Created:  May 2, 1890

County Seat:

Beaver  1890 – present


County Courthouse – Beaver 


Location:  111 Second Street / Avenue E

Built:  1907 – 1908

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  George P Washburn & Sons of Ottawa

Contractor:  Elbert Clift and L M Larsen


Description: The building faces east and is a two story brown colored brick and concrete structure. The center of the east front is slightly recessed front with a small brick portico. White colored cornices run above the second story windows and below the flat roof line. During construction, the superintendent was C S Woodworth. The building was remodeled in 1926 and completed in 1927. The architect was Butler Company of Oklahoma City and the contractor was S S Strong & Sons of Beaver.


Note: The architect, George P Washburn & Sons, designed courthouses in Anderson County, Atchison County, Butler CountyChautaugua County, Doniphan County, Franklin County, Harper County, Kingman County, Miami County, Pratt County and Woodson County.


Note: The courthouses in the Panhanhle area of the State were constructed or remodeled around 1926 in Beaver County, Cimarron County and Texas County.



N – Seward County, Kansas, Meade County, Kansas and Clark County. Kansas

E – Harper County and Ellis County

S – Lipscomb County, Texas and Ochiltree County, Texas

W – Texas County























Photos taken 2010