Labette County

US States / H-L / Kansas / Labette County

Labette County is named for the French word meaning ”the beet” which is a vegetable.


Created:  February 7,1867

County Seat:

Oswego  1867 – present


County Courthouse – Oswego 


Location:  517 Merchant Street / 6th Street

Built:  1948 – 1949

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  Thomas W Williamson and Company of Topeka

Contractor:  Dalton Construction Company of Joplin, Missouri


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story yellow colored stone face and concrete structure. The east front has a projecting central section with four dividing pillars between the entrance doors on the first story and the windows on the second and third stories. There are vertical orange colored panels between the windows.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed and constructed by H C Hall and C O Perkins in 1880. The building was demolished.



N – Neosho County

E – Crawford County and Cherokee County

S – Craig County, Oklahoma and Nowata County, Oklahoma

W – Montgomery County

















Photos taken 2009