Wilson County

US States / H-L / Kansas / Wilson County

Wilson County is named for Hiero T Wilson, who was a settler, postmaster and prominent citizen of Fort Scott.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Woodson County

E – Neosho County

S – Montgomery County

W – Elk County and Greenwood County


Created:  August 25, 1855                     Map of Kansas highlighting Wilson County

County Seat:

Fredonia  1873 – present


County Courthouse – Fredonia 


Location:  615 Madison Street / North 6th Street

Built:  1960 – 1961

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Kene & Bradley Architects of Topeka

Contractor:  Freeto Construction Company Inc. of Pittsburg


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story brick, glass and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Fredonia. The south front has an overhanging second story of yellow colored concrete. The first story is faced with reddish flagstone and has horizontal windows. The main entrance is on the east side with glass panels rising to the roof line. There is an entrance at the west side with colored panels above.


Note:  The Memorial Clock Tower houses the old 1855 courthouse clock.


See:  The architect, Kiene & Bradley Architects of Topeka, designed courthouses in Coffey County, Greeley County, Jefferson CountyLogan County, Morris County and Neosho County.


History:  The county seat was disputed with eight elections from 1869 to 1873. The first courthouse was designed by  William R Parson and constructed by Gauth & Sedley in Fredonia in 1885. The building was demolished when the second and present courthouse was constructed in 1960 to 1961. 




County Courthouse – Fredonia
















County Courthouse Clock Tower – Fredonia




Photos taken 2009