Chautauqua County

US States / H-L / Kansas / Chautauqua County

Chautauqua County is named for Chautauqua County in the State of New York.


Created:  March 30, 1875

County Seat:

Sedan  1875 – present


County Courthouse – Sedan 


Location:  215 North Chautauqua Street / Elm Street

Built:  1917 – 1918

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  George P Washburn & Sons of Ottawa

Contractor:  L F Nebelong


Description: The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick and limestone structure. The building faces east and was completed in 1918. The east front has a large portico supported by four high columns rising to a wide header at the roof line. The base of the building is course white colored stone. A horizontal belt of stone runs above the second story windows. The roof line is flat.


Note: The architect, George P Washburn & Sons, designed courthouses in Anderson County, Atchison County, Butler County, Doniphan County, Franklin County, Harper County, Kingman County, Miami County, Pratt County and Woodson County, and Beaver County in Oklahoma.



N – Elk County

E – Montgomery County

S – Washington County, Oklahoma and Osage County, Oklahoma

W – Cowley County




















Photos taken 2010