Neosho County

US States / H-L / Kansas / Neosho County

Neosho County is named for the Neosho River which name is derived from the Osage Indian word “ne-o-sho” or “ne-u-zhu” meaning “clear water”.


Created:  June 3, 1861

County Seat:

Osage Mission  1867 – 1874

Erie                   1874 – present


County Courthouse – Erie


Location:  100 South Main Street / East 1st Street

Built:  1961 – 1962

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Kiene & Bradley Architects of Topeka

Contractor:  Deill Construction Company.


Description:  The building faces west and is a one story cream colored brick, glass and concrete structure. The west front has a high peaked section towards the south, with six pillars supporting an overhang with glass entrance. The section to the north has narrow vertical windows. There is another entrance on the north side.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by George P Washburn & Son and constructed by Dannelly & Halfin in 1904. The building was demolished after the present courthouse was completed.


See:  The architect, Kiene & Bradley Architects of Topeka, designed courthouses in Coffey County, Greeley County, Jefferson CountyLogan County, Morris County and Wilson County.



N – Allen County

E – Bourbon County and Crawford County

S – Labette County

W – Wilson County























Photos taken 2009