Harper County

US States / H-L / Kansas / Harper County

Harper County is named for Marion Harper, who was a Sergeant of the Second Kansas Cavalry and who died near Waldron, Arkansas in December 1863.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Kingman County

E – Sumner County

S – Grant County, Oklahoma and Alfalfa County, Oklahoma

W – Barber County


Created:  February 26, 1867                  Map of Kansas highlighting Harper County

County Seat:

Anthony  1867 – present


County Courthouse – Anthony 


Location:  201 Jennings Avenue / East Steadman Street

Built:  1907 – 1908

Style:  Romanesque

Architect:  George P Washburn & Sons of Ottawa

Contractor:  Matheim & Walker of St. Joseph, Missouri


Description: The building faces west and is a three story red colored brick, limestone and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Anthony. The building has entrances on three sides. The west front has a stone porch on the first story and on the third story are arched windows. Above is a large pediment with semi-circular window. At each corner is an octagonal red colored brick tower with steep roof. In the center of the building rises a square red colored brick clock tower with clock and statue of Justice at the top. The base of the building is course stone. In the interior there are wide corridors, tiled wainscoting and floors and cast-iron grillwork.The building houses the County District Court of the 30th Judicial District. 


Note:  Other contracts were let to Reynolds and Jones of Kingman for plumbing and heating, J Q McAfee for wood furniture, Livingstone Furniture Company for opera chairs, L L Livingston for electrical and Art Metal Construction Company for the vaults. The budget for construction was $60,000.


Note: The architect, George P Washburn & Sons, designed courthouses in Anderson County, Atchison County, Butler CountyChautaugua County, Doniphan County, Franklin CountyKingman County, Miami County, Pratt County and Woodson County, and Beaver County in Oklahoma.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Harper County Courthouse


See:  The 30th Judicial District includes Barber County, Kingman County, Pratt County and Sumner County.


History:  The county was created in 1867 and Anthony was selected as the county seat in 1878 when the county was organized. The first courthouse was a brick structure built in 1881. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1907 to 1908.




County Courthouse – Anthony






















Photos taken 2010