Chattooga County

US States / A-G / Georgia / Chattooga County

Chattooga County is named for the Chattooga River which flows through the county and is named after a Cherokee Native American word meaning ”he drank by sips” or “he has crossed the stream and come out upon the other side”


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Walker County

E – Floyd County 

S – Floyd County 

W – Cherokee County, Alabama and DeKalb County, Alabama



Created:  December 28, 1838                Map of Georgia highlighting Chattooga County

County Seat: 

Summerville  1838 – present


County Courthouse – Summerville 


Location:  10035 Commerce Street / Washington Avenue

Built:  1909 – 1910

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival

Architect:  Bryan Architectural Firm

Contractor:  Falls City Construction Company of Louisville, Kentucky


Description:  The building faces northeast and is a two story cream colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located in the center of Summerville. The northeast front and southeast have high porticoes supported by four columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. The corner sections of the building project from the main building. On the center of the roof is an octagonal dome with clock, gold dome and small cupola at the top. The courtroom is located on the second story.


See:  The contractor Falls City Construction Company of Louisville, Kentucky


History:  The first courthouse was built in Summerville in 1840. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1909 to 1910.




County Courthouse – Summerville

























photos taken 2010 and 2018