Cobb County

US States / A-G / Georgia / Cobb County

Cobb County is named for Thomas W Cobb, who was a United States Representative and Senator and a Georgia superior court judge.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Bartow County and Cherokeee County 

E – Fulton County

S – Fulton County and Douglas County

W – Paulding County


Created:  December 3, 1832                  Map of Georgia highlighting Cobb County

County Seat: 

Marietta  1832 – present


County Courthouse – Marietta 


Location:  70  Haynes Street / Lawrence Street NE

Built:  2009 – 2011

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Piper O’Brien Herr Architects

Contractor:  Turner Construction of New York, New York


Description:  The building faces west and is a seven story red colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The building is located in the center of Marietta. The west front has a large square tower rising eight stories with clock and steep roof at the top. The first two stories have buff colored concrete facing. The roof line is flat and the building is connected to the Judicial Complex on the west by a covered walkway.


State Court Judicial Building – Marietta 




Location:  12 East Park Square / Lawrence Street NE

Built:  1994 – 1995

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Heery International Inc.

Contractor:  The Winter Construction Company


Description:  The building faces west and is a three story red colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The building is located in the center of Marietta. The west front has vertical concrete pillars at the southwest corner rising to a clock with glass panels below. The roof line is flat.


Old County Court Buildings – Marietta 




Location:  30 – 32 Waddell Street / Roswell Street

Built:  1966 – 1968

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Cleveland M Cail Jr. and William R Tapp, Jr.

Contractor:  Marietta Construction Company Inc.


Description:  The buildings face west and are four story buff colored brick, concrete and glass structures. The building is located in the center of Marietta. The windows are horizontal and the roof line is flat. The North Superior Court, South Superior Court and Public Safety Building have a west atrium entrance connecting the north building and the two south buildings. The buildings are connected by an enclosed walkway to the new courthouse on the east side.

See:  The 7th Judicial District includes Barstow CountyCatoosa CountyChattooga CountyDade CountyDouglas CountyFloyd CountyGordon CountyHaralson CountyMurray CountyPaulding County, Polk CountyWalker County and Whitfield County.


History:  The county was created in 1832 and Marietta was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a one room log cabin in Marietta built in 1834. In 1838, the second courthouse was a two story wood building. Located in the city square. The third courthouse was built in 1852 and was burned during the Civil War. The fourth courthouse was a two story brick structure built in 1872 to 1873. In 1965 to 1966, a three square block complex was constructed containing courtrooms. The sixth courthouse was constructed in 2009 to 2011.




County Courthouse – Marietta













State Court Judicial Building – Marietta













Old County Court Buildings – Marietta













Photos taken 2010 and 2013