Gordon County

US States / A-G / Georgia / Gordon County

Gordon County is named for William Washington Gordon, who was the first Georgian to graduate from West Point and the first president of the Central Georgia Railroad.


Created:  February 13, 1850

County Seat: 

Calhoun  1850 – present


County Courthouse – Calhoun 


Location:  100 South wall Street / South Court Street

Built:  1961 – 1962

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Cunningham & Forehand

Contractor:  Gann Construction Company


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The west front has a one story portico with four columns rising to a pediment below the roof line. The windows are vertical with panels between the first and second stories. The mansard roof has dormer windows.


Note:  The red colored brick courthouse constructed in 1889 was torn down in 1961.



N – Whitfield County and Murray County

E – Gilmer County and Pickens County

S – Barstow County and Floyd County

W – Floyd County and Walker County




















Photos taken 2013