Walker County

US States / A-G / Georgia / Walker County

Walker County is named for Freeman Walker, who was a United States Senator and an attorney from Augusta.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Hamilton County, Tennessee

E – Catoosa County, Whitfield County and Gordon County

S – Floyd County and Chattooga County

W – DeKalb County, Alabama and Dade County


Created:  December 18, 1833                Map of Georgia highlighting Walker County

County Seat: 

LaFayette  1833 – present


County Courthouse – LaFayette 


Location:  103 South Duke Street / Patten Street

Built:  1917 – 1918

Style:  Classical Revival and Italian Renaissance Revival

Architect:  Charles E Bearden

Contractor:  Little-Cleckler Construction Company


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of LaFayette. The west front has a central entrance framed with stone. Along the front are twelve columns rising to the top of the second story with a wide horizontal header and projecting cornice below the roof line. There are wings on the north and south sides which are lower in height than the main building. The roof is sloped.


See:  Little-Cleckler Construction Company of Anniston, Alabama also constructed courthouses in Alabama in Fayette County, Jackson County and Limestone Countyin Georgia in Bleckley County, Clarke County and Lincoln County; and in Mississippi in Franklin County, Lawrence County, Walthall County and Webster County.


History:  The first courthouse was built in LaFayette in 1838. The courthouse burned in 1883 and the second courthouse, a two story brick structure, was built in the same year. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1917 to 1918.




County Courthouse – LaFayette










Photos taken 2010