Henry County

US States / O-U / Tennessee / Henry County

Henry County is named for Patrick Henry, who was a Governor of Virgin.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Calloway County, Kentucky

E – Stewart County and Benton County

S – Carroll County

W – Weakley County


Created:  November 7, 1821                  Map of Tennessee highlighting Henry County

County Seat: 

Clifty    1821 – 1823

Paris   1823 – present


County Courthouse – Paris


Location:  101 West Washington Street / North Market Street

Built:  1896 – 1897

Style:  Richardsonian Romanesque

Architect:  Reuben Harrison Hunt of Chattanooga

Contractor:  E M Wallen


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick and stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Paris. The north front has a large central arch. On the northwest and northeast corners are large square towers with slopped roofs. On the southwest corner is an octagonal tower with sloped roof. On the center of the roof is a high square red colored brick clock tower with cupola at the top. The courtroom is located on the second story.


See:  The architect, Rueben Harrison Hunt of Chattanooga, designed courthouses in Hamilton County, Polk County and Warren County.


History:  The first court met at the home of Peter Wall. The first courthouse was a log structure built in 1823 on the Will Clement farm at Clifty. The county seat was moved to Paris in 1823, The second courthouse was a two story brick structure built by John Burke and Francis McConnell in 1825 at a cost of $143. The third courthouse was a two story brick structure designed by John Ora and constructed by Calvin Sweeney in 1852 at a cost of $42,000. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1896 to 1897.




County Courthouse – Paris

























Photos taken 2012