Weakley County

US States / O-U / Tennessee / Weakley County

Weakley County is named for Robert Weakley, who was a United States Representative in Congress.


Created:  October 21, 1823

County Seat: 

Dresden  1825 – present


County Courthouse – Dresden  


Location:  116 West Main Street / North Wilson Street

Built:  1949 – 1951

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Joseph Holman and Thomas Marr of Nashville

Contractor:  Seth E Giem & Associates


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story gray colored limestone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the city. The central entrance on the first story is framed with stone. Square windows run along the first story. Recessed vertical windows are on the second and third stories. The roof line is flat.


See:  The architect, Joseph Holman and Thomas Marr of Nashville, designed courthouses in Bedford County, Franklin County, Hardin CountyLauderdale County, Madison County, McNairy County, Obion County, Pickett County and Sumner County. They also designed the Tennessee Supreme Court in Nashville.


Note:  The first court met in a small log cabin in 1823. The first courthouse was a brick structure built by John Scarborough of Stewart County in 1827 on Court Square. In 1852, the second courthouse was a brick structure built by Major Cowardin at a cost of $20,000. The building was enlarged in 1911 by L Ewingo and was destroyed by fire on February 19, 1948.



N – Graves County, Kentucky

E – Henry County

S – Carroll County and Gibson County

W – Obion County





County Courthouse

























Photos taken 2011