Adams County

US States / N / North Dakota / Adams County

Adams County is named for John Quincy Adams ( 1848-1919 ), who was the General Land and Townsite Agent for the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Railroad whose main line was built through the southwestern part of North Dakota.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Slope County and Hettinger County

E – Grant County and Sioux County

S – Perkins County, South Dakota

W – Bowman County


Created:  April 17, 1907                         Map of North Dakota highlighting Adams County

County Seat: 

Hettinger  1907 – present


County Courthouse – Hettinger


Location:  600 Adams Avenue / North 7th Street

Built:  1928 – 1929

Style:  Federal Revival

Architect:  Ira L Rush of Minot

Contractor:  Fred R Comb of Minneapolis, Minnesota.


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is surrounded by landscaped grounds in the center of Hettinger. The first story is red colored brick. Along the south front, the windows on the second and third stories are arched. The east and west side portions of the building are lower. The roof line is flat. Interior spaces are marked by a stone veneer midway up the walls. The courtroom also has Doric pilasters, many original lighting fixtures, and a rusticated arch over the entry door.


See:  The architect,  Ira L Rush of Minot, also designed the courthouses in Burleigh County, Ransom County and Sheridan County.


History:  The first courthouse was designed and built by A A Jackson in 1907 in Hettinger. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1928 to 1929.




County Courthouse – Hettinger







Photos taken 2007