Dunn County

US States / N / North Dakota / Dunn County

Dunn County is named for John Piatt Dunn of Bismarck,  North Dakota ( 1839-1917 ), an 1872 arrival who opened the first drug store in North Dakota and who was a civic and commercial leader. 


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – McKenzie County and Mountrail County

E – McLean County and Mercer County

S – Stark County

W – Billings County and McKenzie County 


Created:  May 24, 1901                          Map of North Dakota highlighting Dunn County

County Seat:

Manning  1908 – present


County Courthouse – Manning


Location:  205 Owen Street / Highway 22

Built: 1994 – 1995

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Rich zumBrunnen

Contractor:  Kolling & Kolling Inc.


Description:  The building faces south and  is a one story dark brown colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Manning. The south front has a single thin column supporting the brick portico. The building has small windows and the roof line is flat.


History:  The county was created and Manning became the county seat in 1908. The first courthouse was a one and a half story wood structure designed by Arnt Ree and built by Davis & Son in 1915. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1994 to 1995.




County Courthouse – Manning
















Picture 1915 County Courthouse

Photos taken 2007 and 2009