Grant County

US States / N / North Dakota / Grant County

Grant County is named for Ulysses Simpson Grant ( 1822-1885 ), president of the United States from 1869 to 1877.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Morton County

E – Morton County and Sioux County

S – Sioux County

W – Adams County, Hettinger County and Stark County

Created:  November 24, 1916                Map of North Dakota highlighting Grant County

County Seat: 

Carson  1916 – present


County Courthouse – Carson


Location:  106 2nd Avenue East / Main Street

Built:  1980

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Don D Jiran

Contractor:  Froeschle Sons, Inc.


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story buff colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Carson.The south front has a large dark glass window in the recessed portico along the west side. The building has few windows and the roof line is flat.


See:  The architect, Don D Jiran, also designed the courthouse in Sioux County.


History:  In 1916, Carson was named as the county seat and the first courthouse was built by J H Bellman. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1980.




County Courthouse – Carson




Photos take 2007