Bowman County

US States / N / North Dakota / Bowman County

Bowman County is named for Edward M Bowman, member of the House of Representatives from the southern half of the territory.          


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Slope County

E – Adams County

S – Harding County, South Dakota

W – Fallon County, Montana


Created: March 8, 1883                          Map of North Dakota highlighting Bowman County

County Seat:

Bowman  1907 – present


County Courthouse – Bowman


Location:  104 1st Street Northwest / 1st Avenue Northwest

Built:  1973 – 1974

Style: Modern

Architect:  Blake, Zieske and Associates

Contractor:  Johnson & Undum, Inc.


Description: The building faces south and is a two story red and buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Boweman. The first story is buff colored brick and the second story and west wing are red colored brick. The dark glass entrance is along the center of the south side. The roof line is flat.


History:  The county was organized and Bowman was named as the county seat. The first courthouse was a two story structure built in Bowman in 1908. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1973 to 1974.




County Courthouse – Bowman

























Photos taken 2007 and 2015