Fallon County

US States / M / Montana / Fallon County

Fallon County is named for Benjamin O’Fallon, who was a Federal Native American agent.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Prairie County and Wibaux County

E – Golden Valley County, North Dakota, Slope County, North Dakota, Bowman County, North Dakota and Harding County, South Dakota

S – Carter County

W – Custer County


Created:  December 9, 1913                  Map of Montana highlighting Fallon County

County Seat: 

Baker  1913 – present


County Courthouse – Baker


Location:  10 West Fallon Avenue / 1st Street West

Built:  1974 – 1975

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Johnson/Graham Associates

Contractor:  Miller Construction Company


Description:  The building faces north and is a one story dark red colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Baker. The building has vertical red colored brick pillars along the walls with a sloped red roof above. The entrance located in the center of the north side, has glass doors. The widows are vertical and narrow. The building houses the County District Court of the 16th Judicial District. The building also houses the City of Baker. To the southeast is the old Sheriff Residence which is now the O’Fallon Historical Museum built in 1916.


See:  The 16th Judicial District includes Carter County, Custer CountyFallon County, Garfield CountyPowder River CountyRosebud County and Treasure County.


History:  The county was created in 1913 and Baker was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a two story frame structure bu designed by Link & Haire and constructed in 1915. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1974 to 1975.




County Courthouse – Baker



















Old County Jail – Baker










Photos taken 2009 and 2015