Carter County

US States / M / Montana / Carter County

Carter County is named for Thomas Henry Carter, who was a United States Senator from Montana.


Created:  February 22, 1917

County Seat: 

Ekalaka  1917 – present


County Courthouse – Ekalaka


Location:  214 Park Street / South Main Street

Built:  1919 – 1920

Style:  Territorial

Architect:  John Link and Charles Haire of Billings

Contractor:   Lantis Rickard Lumber of Ekalaka


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story white colored wood frame structure. There is a one story projection at the central entrance on the north side. Above the entrance on the second story is a large window. On the center of the roof is a square cupola with smaller cupola at the top. The supervising architect was John Thompson.


Note:  The cost of construction, including materials and manpower was approximately 18,000.00. The fixtures, which included office equipment and vaults were purchased from Billings Stationary & Office Company for about $1400.00. The lighting contract was with L F Bruggemann for a cost of 600.00.


See:  The courthouse is one of two wood courthouses in Montana and the other wood courthouse is in Daniels County.


See:  The architect, John G Link of Montana ( in association with Charles S Haire  and others ) designed courthouses in Montana in Big Horn CountyCuster County, Dawson County, Granite County, McCone County, Musselshell County, Richland County, Rosebud County, Sheridan County and Silver Bow County; and in Wyoming in Park CountySheridan County and Washakie County.



N – Fallon County

E – Harding County, South Dakota and Butte County, South Dakota

S – Crook County, Wyoming

W – Powder River County and Custer County

















Photos taken 2009