Perkins County

US States / O-U / South Dakota / Perkins County

Perkins County is named for Henry Perkins, who was a State senator from Sturgis in 1908.             


Created:  November 3, 1908

County Seat:               

Lemmon  1909

Bison       1909 – present


County Courthouse – Bison


Location:  100 East Main Street / Coleman Avenue ( 3rd Avenue )

Built:  1969 – 1970

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Hengel Associates

Contractor:  F & J Construction Inc.


Description:  The building faces south and is a one story modern red-orange colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of the city. The entrance on the south side has a large glass window over the doorway. A wide concrete border goes around the roof line. The base of the building is dark brown brick.  The roof line is flat.


Note:  The old courthouse was constructed in 1909 on the same site as the present courthouse.



N – Adams County, North Dakota

E – Corson County and Ziebrach County

S – Meade County

W – Butte County and Harding County





County Courthouse
















Picture 1909 Courthouse

Photos taken 2007, 2009 and 2013