Banner County

US States / N / Nebraska / Banner County

Banner County is named for the slogan “banner county” as the county was “to be the brightest star in the constellation of Nebraska counties”.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Scotts Bluff County

E – Morrill County and Cheyenne County

S – Kimball County

W – Laramie County, Wyoming and Goshen County, Wyoming


Created:  November 6, 1888                  Map of Nebraska highlighting Banner County

County Seat:

Harrisburg  1889 – present


County Courthouse – Harrisburg 


Location:  206 State Street / Illinois Avenue

Built:  1956 – 1957

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Robert W Ditzen of Boulder, Colorado

Contractor:  Fullen Construction Company Inc. of Scotts Bluff


Description:  The building faces south and is a one story buff colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious grounds in the center of Harrisburg. The building is a long rectangle with large windows on the south side. The center section has white colored stone. In the interior is the County District Court courtroom. The building houses the County District Court and County Court of the 12th Judicial District.


See:  The contractor, Fullen Construction Company, Inc. of Scotts Bluff, also constructed the courthouse in Brown County and Sioux County.


See:  The 12th Judicial District includes Box Butte CountyCheyenne County, Dawes CountyDeuel County, Garden CountyGrant County, Kimball County, Morrill CountyScotts Bluff County, Sheridan County and Sioux County.


History:  The county was created in 1888 and Harrisburg was selected as the county seat in 1889. The first courthouse was a two story wood frame structure designed and built by Charles A Schooley in 1890. He donated the building to the county. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1956 to 1957 at a cost of $200,000.




County Courthouse – Harrisburg
















County District Court courtroom







Old Bank Building – Harrisburg

Photos taken 2010