Deuel County

US States / N / Nebraska / Deuel County

Deuel County is named for a railroad official whose name has been lost.


Created:  November 6, 1888

County Seat:

Chappell  1894 – present


County Courthouse – Chappell  


Location:  718 3rd Street / Babcock Avenue

Built:  1915 – 1916

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  John James Huddart of Denver, Colorado

Contractor:  M J Kenney of Denver, Colorado


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story square buff colored brick, stone and metal structure. The south front has a small pediment over the entrance on the first story. A white colored projecting cornice runs below the roof line. The roof line is flat with a raised parapet on the center of each side and raised corner parapets.


Note:  The cost of construction of the courthouse was $20,505.


See:  The architect, John James Huddart of Denver, Colorado, designed courthouses in Colorado in  Arapahoe County, Cheyenne County, Custer County, Elbert County, Logan County, Saguache County, Summit County and Washington County and in Nebraska in Garden County.



N – Garden County

E – Keith County

S – Sedgwick County, Colorado

W – Cheyenne County 



















Photos taken 2006 and 2010