Garden County

US States / N / Nebraska / Garden County

Garden County is named for the hopes of two real estate agents and citizens of the county, that the county would be the “garden spot of the west”.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Sheridan County

E – Grant CountyArthur County and Keith County

S – Deuel County

W – Cheyenne County and Morrill County


Created:  November 9, 1909                  Map of Nebraska highlighting Garden County

County Seat:

Oshkosh  1909 – present


County Courthouse – Oshkosh  


Location:  611 Main Street / Avenue F

Built:  1921 – 1923

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  John James Huddart of Denver, Colorado

Contractor:  June Mackie


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick, concrete and terra cotta structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Oshkosh. The south front has a protruding portico with two tall Ionic columns and a decorative pediment at the roof line. A wide cornice runs below the roof line. Interior elements include attractive woodwork for chair rails, transoms, doors and their frames, simple plaster capitals and pilasters, and high ceilings in hallways. The district courtroom has a modern ceiling and flush fluorescent lighting but retains its original trim and furnishings. Behind the judge’s bench is an attractive oak screen that is pedimented and has pilasters, panels, a row of dentils, and a shell motif centered on the design. The building houses the District Court and County Court of the 12th Judicial District.  An addition has been added to the west side of the building.


See:  The architect, John James Huddart of Denver, Colorado, designed courthouses in Colorado in Adams County, Arapahoe County, Cheyenne County, Custer County, Elbert County, Logan County, Saguache County, Summit County and Washington County and in Nebraska in Deuel County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Gardener County Courthouse


See:  The 12th Judicial District includes Banner CountyBox Butte CountyCheyenne County, Dawes CountyDeuel County, Grant County, Kimball County, Morrill CountyScotts Bluff County, Sheridan County and Sioux County.


History:  The county was created in 1909 and Oshkosh was selected as the county seat in 1910. The county rented premises until the first and present courthouse was constructed in 1921 to 1923 at a cost of $40,000.




County Courthouse - Oshkosh  







Photos taken 2006