Kimball County

US States / N / Nebraska / Kimball County

Kimball County is named for Thomas L Kimball, who was the vice president and general manager of the Union Pacific Railroad.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Banner County

E – Cheyenne County

S – Logan County, Colorado and Weld County, Colorado

W – Laramie County, Wyoming 


Created:  November 6, 1888                  Map of Nebraska highlighting Kimball County

County Seat:

Kimball  1888 – present


County Courthouse – Kimball  


Location:  114 West 3rd Street / South Walnut Street

Built:  1927 – 1928

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  E L Goldsmith & Company of Scotts Bluff

Contractor:  Walter Knutzen & Son of Kearney


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story gray Carthage stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Kimbasll. The north front has three arched entrances on the first story. Columns rise from the second story to the top of the third story diving recessed windows. A wide cornice runs between the first and second stories. At the roof line is a wide eave. The roof line is flat. The south side of the building is buff colored brick facing.


History:  The first courthouse was designed by George McDonald and constructed by Everett Brothers in Kimball in 1893, The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1927 to 1928 at a cost of $180,000.


Note:  The highest point in Nebraska is Panorama Point ( Constable Mountain ) at 54729 feet ( 1655 meters ) which is located in the county.




County Courthouse – Kimball

























Photos taken 2010