Bates County

US States / M / Missouri / Bates County

Bates County is named for Frederick Bates, who was the second governor of Missouri.

Created:  January 29, 1841

County Seat:

Harmony Mission  1841 – 1847

Papinville              1847 – 1856

Butler                    1856 – 1865


County Courthouse – Butler


Location:  1 North Delaware Street / West Ohio Street

Built:  1901 – 1902

Style:  Richardsonian Romanesque

Architect:  George E McDonald of Omaha, Nebraska

Contractor:  Bartlett and Kling of Galesburg, Illinois.


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story course gray colored Carthage stone structure. The building is 84 by 104 feet. The south front has a projecting center section with arched entrance on the first story and rising to a peak. Above the entrance is a large arched window on the second story. The four corner towers have octagonal ogee-shaped roofs and upper corners accented with stone bartizans. On the center of the roof is a large square stone clock tower with the statue of Justice at the top of the dome. The roof is hipped.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by P B Leach and constructed by J B Linkenpaugh for $23,000 in 1869.


See:  The architect, George E McDonald of Omaha, Nebraska, designed courthouses in Kansas in Elk County; in Missouri in Andrew CountyBates County, Johnson County and Lawrence County and in Nebraska in Fillmore County and Nuckolls County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Bates County Courthouse



N – Cass County

E – Henry County and St. Clair County 

S – Vernon County

W – Linn County, Kansas and Miami County, Kansas




















Photos taken 2009