Lawrence County

US States / M / Missouri / Lawrence County

Lawrence County is named for James Lawrence, who was an American naval officer best known for his last words “Don’t give up the ship!”.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Dade County

E – Greene CountyChristian County and Stone County

S – Barry County

W – Newton County and Jasper County 


Created:  February 14, 1845                  Map of Missouri highlighting Lawrence County

County Seat:

Mount Vernon  1845 – present


County Courthouse – Mount Vernon  


Location:  1 East Courthouse Square / North Main Street

Built:  1900 – 1901

Style:  Romanesque Revival

Architect:  George E McDonald of Omaha, Nebraska

Contractor:  J D Armstrong of Chicago ( defaulted ) T A Miller of Aurora


Description: The building faces south and is a two story course gray colored limestone  structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Mount Vernon and is 48 feet by 104 feet. The south front has an arch at the entrance on the first story. The centre section projects slightly from the main building and rises to a peak. There are large square stone towers with domed roofs on each corner. On the center of the roof is a square clock tower with domed roof and statue of Justice at the top. The first and second stories are laid out on a cross plan with entrances in the center of each of the four sides. The stair case is in the east section. The decorative woodwork is of oak and walnut and is found in the main staircase, window and door frames, fireplace mantels, and courtroom railings. Features include the inlaid tile floors, wrought-iron brackets on the underside of the main staircase, and the walnut staircase itself with the lighted newel post on the ground floor. The courtroom is located on the second story. 


See:  The architect, George E McDonald of Omaha, Nebraska designed courthouses in Kansas in Elk Countyin Missouri in Andrew CountyBates County and Johnson County; in Nebraska in Fillmore County and Nuckolls County and in Wyoming in  Niobrara County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Lawrence County Courthouse


County Justice Center – Mount Vernon  




Location:  240 North Main Street / East Water Street

Built:  2008

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Richard Warner

Contractor:  Crossland Construction of Kansas City


Description: The building faces west and is a two story cement and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Mount Vernon. The west front has a gray colored concrete section with concrete pillars diving the recessed glass panel walls. Above is a wide header. The building is tiered going east. The roof line is flat The building houses the County Circuit Court.. 


See:  The 39th Judicial District covers Barry County, Lawrence County and Stone County.


History:  The county was created in 1845 and Mount Vernon was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a two story frame structure built by Matlock and Sanford in 1846 at a cost of $700. The building was razed in 1916 to 1918. The second courthouse was a three story brick structure built by Stephen M Walcott, of Newton County in 1853 to 1855 at a cost of $7,000. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1900 to 1901 at a cost of $48,875. The County Justice Center was constructed in 2008.




County Courthouse – Mount Vernon































County Justice Center – Mount Vernon










Photos taken 2009