St. Clair County

US States / M / Missouri / St. Clair County
St. Clair

St. Clair County is named for Arthur St. Clair, who was governor of the Northwest Territory and the 9th President of the United States in Congress Assembled when the Northwest Ordinance and United States Constitution were passed.


Created:  January 29, 1841

County Seat:

Osceola  1841 – present


County Courthouse – Osceola  


Location:  665 2nd Street / Chestnut Street

Built:  1916 – 1923

Style:  Classicial Revival

Architect:  Clifton B Sloan

Contractor:   D M Wall.


Description: The building faces northwest and is a one story buff colored brick, concrete and concrete structure. The northwest front has an entrance with stone trim. There are four part columns rising to the top of the second story. A wide cornice runs below the roofline. The north section of the building is recessed. 



N – Henry County

E – Benton County and Hickory County

S – Polk County and Cedar County

W – Vernon County and Bates County




















Photos taken 2009