Elk County

US States / H-L / Kansas / Elk County

Elk County is named for the Elk River which was named after the abundance of elk in the region.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Greenwood County

E – Wilson County and Montgomery County

S – Chautauqua County

W – Cowley County and Butler County


Created:  March 3, 1875                         Map of Kansas highlighting Elk County

County Seat:

Howard  1875 – present


County Courthouse – Howard 


Location:  127 South Pine Street / East Washington Street

Built:  1907 – 1908

Style:  Romanesque Revival and Italian Renaissance

Architect:  George E McDonald of Omaha, Nebraska

Contractor:  Morse Contracting Company.


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story yellow buff colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Howard. The north front has an arched entrance on the first story and rises to a high square brick clock tower with open section at the top. The front east and west sections are on story with a two story section behind. The base of the building is course limestone. The red colored roof is hipped. The building was renovated in 1976 to 1977.


See:  The architect, George E McDonald of Omaha, Nebraska, designed courthouses in Missouri in Andrew County, Bates County, Johnson County and Lawrence County and in Nebraska in Fillmore County and Nuckolls County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Elk County Courthouse


History:  The first courthouse was constructed by J S Huntly in 1877 and burned on October 24, 1906.  L F Roberts was hired to tear down the remaining wall and the cost of construction of the second and present courthouse was $47,000 in 19067 to 1908.




County Courthouse – Howard






















Photos taken 2010