Ellsworth County

US States / H-L / Kansas / Ellsworth County

Ellsworth County is named for Fort Ellsworth, which was named for Allen Ellsworth who was a 2nd Lieutenant of the 7th Iowa Cavalry and who supervised the construction of the fort.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Lincoln County

E – Saline County and McPherson County

S – Rice County

W – Barton County and Russell County


Created:  February 16, 1867                  Map of Kansas highlighting Ellsworth County

County Seat:

Ellsworth  1867 - present


County Courthouse – Ellsworth  


Location:  210 North Kansas Avenue / West 1st Street

Built:  1953 – 1954

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Mann & Company of Hutchinson

Contractor:  Walter Armngost Construction Company of Wichita.


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The central part of the southeast front projects from the main building and has dark red stone trim around the entrance and second story windows. The east and west wings are lower. There are brown panels between the first and second story windows. The roof line is flat.


Note:  The associate architect was John G Seitz and the electrical contractor was Paul Merrill Construction Company of Salina. The previous courthouse was constructed in 1889 and was demolished when the present courthouse was constructed.


See:  The architect,  Mann & Company of Hutchinson, designed courthouses in Ellis County, Graham County, Lane County, Pratt County, Republic County, Scott County, Stafford County and Stevens County.


History:  The first courthouse was a two story brick structure built in 1872 at a cost of $12,000 in Ellsworth. The second courthouse was designed by George W Schafer and constructed by J W Gardinier in 1889. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1953 to 1954.




County Courthouse – Ellsworth










Photos taken 2010