Barton County

US States / H-L / Kansas / Barton County

Barton County is named for Clara Barton, who was responsible for the founding of the Red Cross.


Created:  February 26, 1867

County Seat:

Great Bend  1867 – present


County Courthouse – Great Bend 


Location:  1400 Main Street / Forest Avenue

Built:  1917 – 1918

Style:  Modern Classical Eclecticism

Architect:  William Earl Hulse & Company of Hutchison

Contractor:  Manhattan Construction Company of Muskogee, Oklahoma


Description: The building faces west and is a four story white colored brick structure. There are Ionic columns rising from the second story to the third story, large arched windows on the third story and small windows on the fourth story. The entrance is framed with black colored stone.


Note:  The architect, William Earl Hulse & Company of Hutchison, designed courthouses in Brown County, Kiowa County, Osage County, Pawnee CountyReno County, Wallace County and Wichita County.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by John G Haskell and constructed by John McDonald in 1873.



N – Russell County

E – Ellsworth County and Rice County

S – Stafford County and Pawnee County

W – Pawnee County and Rush County




















Photos taken 2006 and 2010