Russell County

US States / H-L / Kansas / Russell County

Russell County is named for Alva P Russell, who was a soldier in the American Civil War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Osborne County

E – Lincoln County and Ellsworth County

S – Barton County

W – Ellis County


Created:  February 26, 1867                  Map of Kansas highlighting Russell County

County Seat:

Russell  1872 – present


County Courthouse – Russell 


Location:  401 North Main Street / West 4th Street

Built:  1902 – 1904

Style:  Romanesque

Architect:  George A Berlinghof of Nebraska

Contractor:  Unknown


Description: The building faces west and is a two story rough post rock stone and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Russell. The building has a high central section with the entrance on the first story and clock at the top. The building houses the County District Court of the 20th Judicial District.  In 1908, a tower was constructed. The building was altered in 1949.  An addition was constructed on the north side in 2014. The architect was Jones  Gillam Anez Architects and the contractor was Quinter Manufacturing Construction Company. To the east is the Old County Jail and Sheriff Residence.


See:  The 20th Judicial District includes Barton CountyEllsworth CountyRice County and Stafford County.


History:  The county was created in 1867 and Russell was selected as the county seat in 1872 when the county was organized, The first courthouse might have been built following organization of the county in 1872. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1902 to 1904.




County Courthouse – Russell

Photos taken 2006