Graham County

US States / H-L / Kansas / Graham County

Graham County is named for Captain John L Graham, of the eight regiment, Kansas infantry, who was killed at Chickamauga, Tennessee, September 19, 1863.


Created:  February 26, 1867

County Seat:

Hill City  1880 – present


County Courthouse – Hill City  


Location:  410 North Pomeroy Street / East McFarland Street

Built:  1957 – 1958

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Mann and Company of Hutchinson

Contractor:  Mann and Company of Hutchinson


Description: The building faces south and is a one story structure with glass and concrete construction. The main entrance is on the south side with a glass entrance hall. The east front extends south from the main building. The roof of the center section is higher than the rest of the building. The roof line is flat.  


Note:  The previous courthouse was constructed by James P Pomeroy and W R Hill in 1888.


See:  The architect,  Mann & Company of Hutchinson, designed courthouses in Ellis County, Ellsworth CountyLane County, Pratt County, Republic County, Scott County, Stafford County and Stevens County.



N – Norton County

E – Rooks County

S – Trego County

W – Sheridan County











Photos taken 2007