Washington County

US States / H-L / Iowa / Washington County

Washington County is named for George Washington, who was the first President of the United States from 1789 to 1797.


Created:  January 25, 1839

County Seat:

Washington  1839 – present


County Courthouse – Washington


Location:  224 West Main Street / North B Avenue

Built:  1885 – 1887

Style:  Romanesque

Architect:  Foster & Liebbe

Contractor:  Thomas Colwell and Hugh Colwell


Description: The building faces south and is a three story red colored brick structure. On the southwest corner is a large square brick clock tower rising six stories to a clock and steep roof. The tower houses a bell made of bronze, tin and brass. At the base is a pediment with a statue of Justice at the top. The south entrance projects from the building on the first story. The east section also projects and has a pitched roof line. There is stone trim along the windows. The foundation is a course white colored stone.


Note:  The first courthouse was built in 1839 at a cost of $759 and the second courthouse was built in 1847. The present courthouse was constructed at a cost of $75,000.



N – Iowa County and Johnson County

E – Johnson County and Louisa County 

S – Henry County and Jefferson County 

W – Keokuk County














Photos taken 2008 and 2012