Dallas County

US States / H-L / Iowa / Dallas County

Dallas County is named for George M Dallas, who was Vice President of the United States of America under James K Polk.


Created:  January 13, 1846

County Seat:

Adel  1848 – present


County Courthouse – Adel


Location:  801 Court Street / North 8th Street

Built:  1901 – 1902

Style:  French Chateau

Architect:  Proudfoot and Bird of Des Moines

Contractor:  James Rowson and Son


Description: The building faces south and is a three story gray colored Bedford stone structure. The east and west sections project and have red roofed turrets on each corner. The recessed center section has an arched entrance on the first story and rises to a third story balcony with the Goddess of Justice at the top of the fourth story dormer. In the center of the building is a high square clock tower with small cupola at the top.


See:  The contractor, James Rowson and Son, also constructed courthouses in Jasper County and Johnson County.


Note:  The first courthouse was built in 1848 and the second courthouse was built in 1853. In 1853, the third courthouse was built at a cost of $20,000. The cost of construction of the present courthouse was $109,243.



N – Greene County and Boone County

E – Polk County

S – Madison County 

W – Guthrie County




















Photos taken 2008