Wabash County

US States / H-L / Illinois / Wabash County

Wabash County is named for the Wabash River, which is derived from the English spelling of the French name for the river “Ouabache” which was named after the  Miami Indian word for the river “Wabashike” meaning “pure white” as the river bottom is white limestone.


Created:  December 27, 1824

County Seat:

Palmyra            1825

Centreville        1825 – 1829

Mount Carmel  1829 – present


County Courthouse – Mount Carmel


Location:  401 North Market Street / East 4th Street

Built:  1959 – 1960

Style:  Moderne

Architect:  John L Hagel of Evansville, Indiana

Contractor:  W R Steele


Description: The building faces west and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building was rebuilt and replaced the old building built in 1880 to 1881. The building was  remodeled in 1963. The building has a modern square line appearance. The north section of the building comes to the street. The entrance is recessed and has a one story covered porch. The south section is behind the entrance. The roof line is flat.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by James Higbee and built by A Holterback in 1881.



N – Richland County and Lawrence County

E – Knox County, Indiana and Gibson County, Indiana

S – Gibson County, Indiana and White County

W – Edwards County



















Photos taken 2008 and 2012