Crawford County

US States / H-L / Illinois / Crawford County

Crawford County is named for William H Crawford, who was the United States Treasury Secretary in 1818 or for William Crawford, who was a soldier in the French and Indian War and American Revolutionary War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Clark County

E – Sullivan County, Indiana and Knox County, Indiana

S – Lawrence County and Richland County

W – Jasper County


Created:  December 31, 1816                                                    Map of Illinois highlighting Crawford County

County Seat:

Home of Edward N Cullom   1816 – 1818

Palestine                               1818 – 1843

Robinson                               1843 – present


County Courthouse – Robinson


Location:  1 Courthouse Square / East Main Street

Built:  1895 – 1896

Style:  Romanesque

Architect:  J W Gaddis of Vincennes, Indiana

Contractor:  T J Morse of Indianapolis, Indiana


Description: The building faces north and is a three story dark red colored brick structure. The north side has three stone trimmed arches on the first story with a balcony on the second story. Round towers rise to the top of the second story. On third story is a clock. The foundation is course stone. The building was damaged by fire on March 28, 1899.



History:  The court first met at the home of Edward N Cullom. The first courthouse was a brick structure built in 1819 in Palestine. The second courthouse was a wood frame structure built in 1830 and was burned a short time after completion. The third courthouse was a brick structure built in 1832. In 1843, the county seat was moved to Robinson. The fourth courthouse was a brick structure built in 1844 at a cost of $4,200. The fifth and present courthouse was constructed in 1895 to 1896.




County Courthouse – Robinson










Photos taken 2008