Jackson County

US States / O-U / Oklahoma / Jackson County

Jackson County is named for Andrew Jackson, who was the 7th President of the United States from 1829 to 1837.


Created:  July 16, 1907

County Seat:

Altus  1907 – present


County Courthouse – Altus 


Location:  101 North Main Street / West Broadway Street

Built:  1910 – 1911

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  C E Hair and Company

Contractor:  Rowles and Bailey of Oklahoma City, Oklahoma


Description: The building faces east and is a two story pink colored brick and concrete structure. The east front has a large portico supported by four columns rising to a pediment below the roof line. A wide cornice runs below the flat roof line. The base of the building is red sandstone.


See:  The contractor, Rowles & Bailey of Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, constructed courthouses in Nebraska in Phelps County and Nemaha County; in North Dakota in Pembina County; and in Oklahoma in Grant County


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Jackson County Courthouse



N – Greer County and Kiowa County

E – Kiowa County and Tillman County

S – Wilbarger County, Texas and Hardeman County, Texas

W – Harmon County























Photos taken 2010