Harmon County

US States / O-U / Oklahoma / Harmon County

Harmon County is named for Judson Harmon, who was the United States Attorney General and a Governor of the State of Ohio.


Created:  June 2, 1909

County Seat:

Hollis  1909 – present


County Courthouse – Hollis 


Location:  114 West Hollis Street / North Main Street

Built:  1926 – 1927

Style:  Classical Revival and Commercial

Architect:  Layton, Hicks & Forsyth

Contractor:  W L Scott


Description: The building faces south and is a four story red colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Hollis. The south front has a recessed central entrance framed with stone. A wide horizontal stone cornice runs between the first and second stories.  Above, the windows are grouped in sets of three windows. A wide horizontal stone cornice runs above the third story windows. The roof line is flat.


See: The architect, Layton and Forsyth ( and associated firms ), designed courthouses in Beckham County, Carter County, Craig County, Creek County, Grady County, Greer CountyJefferson County, McIntosh County, Muskogee County, Okfuskee County, Oklahoma CountyPittsburg County and Washita County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Harmon County Courthouse


Note:  The county rented space in Hollis until the first and present courthouse was constructed in 1926.



N – Beckham County

E – Greer County and Jackson County

S – Jackson County and Hardeman County, Texas

W – Childress County, Texas and Collingsworth County, Texas





County Courthouse – Hollis
















Photos taken 2010