Saline County

US States / H-L / Illinois / Saline County

Saline County is named for Saline Creek as the making of salt from the Salines was a major part of the industry of the region.


Created:  February 25, 1847

County Seat:

Raleigh      1847 – 1859

Harrisburg  1859 – present


County Courthouse – Harrisburg


Location: 10 East Poplar Street / North Main Street

Built:  1967 – 1969

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Clark Altay and Associates

Contractor:  Haege Construction Company


Description: The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick, concrete and glass structure. On the east and west sides large windows are along the first story divided by a wide horizontal concrete band from the windows on the second story. The wide white colored band continues along the roof line. The north and south entrances have a wide horizontal concrete band above the entrance with window above.


Note: The first courthouse was designed by J K Kirk & Company in 1861. The previous courthouse was designed by John D Gaddes and constructed by Ford & King in 1905. The building was razed for the present courthouse.



N – Hamilton County

E – Gallatin County

S – Pope County

W – Johnson County and Williamson County














Photos taken 2007 and 2012