Union County

US States / H-L / Illinois / Union County

Union County is named for the federal union of the America States.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Jackson County and Williamson County

E – Johnson County

S – Pulaski County and Alexander County

W – Cape Girardeau, Missouri and Perry County, Missouri


Created:  January 2, 1818                                                          Map of Illinois highlighting Union County

County Seat:

Jonesboro  1818 – present


Former County Courthouse – Jonesboro


Location:  309 West Market Street / Elm Street

Built:  1857 – 1858

Style:  Romanesque

Architect:  John E Naill, John Rinehurst and George W Walborn

Contractor:  Jeremiah Rymer


Description: The building faced south and was a two story white colored plaster and brick structure. The building was located on landscaped grounds in the center of Jonesboro. The south front had a rounded canopy extending from the central doorway. The windows were longer in height, and the roofline was tiered to the flat section at the top. Above the roofline was a square white colored base with an octagonal white wood cupola with rounded roof. Vertical grey bands were on the front of the building with a horizontal band above the second story. On either side of the main building were buff brick additions of two stories. Additions were constructed in 1894 being a Clerk’s Office constructed by Abel W Robinson, 1963 and 1967 additions constructed by Dewey Brown and and 1976 addition constructed by J D Construction Company of Anna..This building was demolished when the new courthouse on the north side was completed.


New County Courthouse – Jonesboro




Location:  309 West Market Street / Elm Street

Built:  2011 – 2013

Style:  Modern

Architect:   HO+K Architect

Contractor:  River City Construction


Description: The building faces south and is a twoe buff colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The building is being constructed on the north side of the current courthouse. The old courthouse was demolished in 2013.


History:  The first court met at the house of Jacob Hunsaker Jr. in 1818. The first courthouse was a one story log structure built by Thomas Cox at a cost of $40 in Jonesborough. The second courthouse was a wooden frame structure built by Dr. Nathaniel Davis in 1819 to 1821 with John Wigle. Jacob Hunsaker and George Woolf completing the construction. The third courthouse was a two story brick and stone structure designed by Willian R Singleton and built by John Freeman in 1838 to 1840.  The fourth courthouse was constructed in 1857 to 1858 at a cost of $4,912 and was torn down in 2013. The fifth and present courthouse was constructed in 2012 to 2013.




Former County Courthouse – Jonesboro













New County Courthouse construction

Photos taken 2007 and 2012