Coles County

US States / H-L / Illinois / Coles County

Coles County is named for Edward Coles, who was the second Governor of the State of Illinois from 1822 to 1826.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Douglas County

E – Edgar County and Clark County

S – Cumberland County

W – Shelby County and Moultrie County


Created:  December 25, 1830                                                    Map of Illinois highlighting Coles County

County Seat:

Charleston  1831 – present


County Courthouse – Charleston


Location:  651 Jackson Avenue / 6th Street

Built:  1898 – 1899

Style:  Richardsonian Romanesque

Architect:  Cornelius W Rapp

Contractor:  S S Coehring and R R Fuller


Description: The building faces north and is a two story yellow colored rough sandstone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Charleston. The entrances on each side have three stone trimmed arches on the first story. Above are large arched windows on the second story with a peaked roof above. On each corner are large square stone towers with peaked roofs. On the center of the roof rises a tall square clock tower with peaked roof.




County Courthouse – Charleston













Photos taken 2008