Floyd County

US States / V-Z / Virginia / Floyd County

Floyd County is named for John Floyd, who was the Governor of Virginia at the time that the county was created.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Montgomery County and Roanoke County

E – Franklin County and Patrick County

S – Patrick County and Carroll County

W – Pulaski County


Created:  January 15, 1831                    Map of Virginia highlighting Floyd County

County Seat: 

Floyd  1831 – present


County Courthouse – Floyd 


Location:  100 East Main Street / North Locust Street

Built:  1950 – 1951

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  J L Williams

Contractor:  A P Snead & Clark Brothers


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Floyd. The south front has a recessed central entrance framed with stone. The building is “U” shaped and is tiered at the front with recessed wings. The roof line is flat.


History:  The first courthouse was designed by James Toncray and built in Floyd in 1834. The second courthouse was built by Henry Dillon in 1851 which lasted for 100 years until the third and resent courthouse was constructed in 1950 to 1951.




County Courthouse – Floyd



















Photos taken 2013