Marshall County

US States / H-L / Indiana / Marshall County

Marshall County is named for John Marshall, who was the United States Chief Justice of the Supreme Court.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Saint Joseph County

E – Elkhart County and Kosciusko County

S – Fulton County

W – Starke County and Saint Joseph County


Created:  February 7, 1835                                                        Map of Indiana highlighting Marshall County

County Seat: 

Plymouth  1836 – present


County Courthouse – Plymouth  


Location:  501 North Center Street / West Jefferson Street

Built:  1870 – 1872

Style:  Italianate

Architect:  Gordon P Randall of Chicago, Illinois

Contractor:  R Epperson and S Favorite of Lafayette


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick and stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds to the northwest of the center of Plymouth. The east front has a large portico with a center arch and small side arches on the first story. Four columns rise from the base of the second story to the pediment at the roof line. Stone trims the corner of the building and the windows. The base of the building is course stone. On the center of the roof is a square yellowish colored clock tower with silver colored dome and spire at the top. The interior has white colored marble. The courtroom is located on the second story.  The building was renovated in 1913 and 1949. An addition was added on the north side in 1988 to 1990 and named as the Courts Building. The architect was Mathews-Purucker-Anella, Inc. and the contractor was Carl J Reinke & Sons, Inc.


See:  The architect Gordon P Randall of Chicago, Illinois also designed the courthouse in Benton County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Marshall County Courthouse


History:  The county seat was established at Plymouth in 1836. The first courthouse was a temporary wood structure erected in 1836 by the city proprietors. The second courthouse was a wood frame structure built by Levi C Barber in 1840 at a cost of $5,000. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1870 to 1872 at a cost of $109,294.




County Courthouse – Plymouth






















County Courthouse and Courts Building – Plymouth










Photos taken 2008