Morgan County

US States / H-L / Illinois / Morgan County

Morgan County is named for Daniel Morgan, who was a general who earned distinction during the American Revolution at Quebec and Saratoga.


Created:  January 31, 1823

County Seat:

Olmstead’s Mounds  1821 – 1825

Jacksonville              1825 – present


County Courthouse – Jacksonville


Location:  300 West State Street / North West Street

Built:  1868 – 1870

Style:  French Renaissance

Architect:  Gordon P Randall of Chicago

Contractor:  C R Underwood


Description: The building faces south and is a two story rough buff stone structure. The south front has wide steps leading up to three arched entrances with recessed doorway in the centre. Above the arches is a double window on the second story with single arched windows on either side. Above that is the date 1868 with rounded roof. On the southeast and southwest corners are two large towers, with the southwest tower rising three stories to a steep mansard red roof. The building is constructed of stone with every third tier running through the entire wall. The exterior stone came from the quarries of Joliet. The building was restored in 2009. The architect was White & Borgognoni of St. Louis, Missouri and the contractor was Evans-Mason Inc. of Springfield.



N – Cass County

E – Sangamon County

S – Macoupin County and Greene County

W – Scott County , Pike County and Brown County














Photos taken 2007 and 2012