Montgomery County

US States / H-L / Illinois / Montgomery County

Montgomery County is named for is named for Richard Montgomery, who was a United States general killed in the American Revolutionary War.


Created:  February 12, 1821

County Seat:

Hamilton   1821 – 1823

Hillsboro   1823 – present


County Courthouse – Hillsboro


Location:  1 Courthouse Square / South Main Street

Built:  1868 – 1872

Style:  Second Empire and Italianate

Architect:  G B Randall of Chicago

Contractor:  Joseph C Hanner


Description: The building faces south and is a three story red colored brick structure. The building sits in the center of Courthouse Square. On the south front are a square brick tower on the southwest corner, a square tower with mansard roof on the southeast corner, and recessed center section with white portico having two white columns on the first story. On the north side are two small square brick towers that rise four stories and have small mansard roofs. An addition was addedin 1912.


County Courts Building – Hillsboro




Location:  120 North Main Street / Public Square

Built:  1992 – 1993

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Design Architects Inc. of Hillsboro

Contractor: Grunloh Construction, Inc.


Description: The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick structure. There are glass panel walls on either side of the central entrance on the east side. The roof is sloped.



N – Sangamon County and Christian County

E – Shelby County and Fayette County

S – Bond County and Madison County

W – Macoupin County














Photos taken 2007 and 2012