Elkhart County

US States / H-L / Indiana / Elkhart County

Elkhart County is named for the Elkhart Indian tribe, or after an island in the St. Joseph River that was shaped like the heart of an elk which the French named “heart of the stag” which became “Elkhart”, or named after Shawnee Chief Elkhart.


Created:  April 1, 1830

County Seat:

Dunlap  1830 – 1831

Goshen  1831 – present


County Courthouse – Goshen


Location:  101 North Main Street / West Lincoln Avenue

Built:  1868 – 1870

Style:  Renaissance Revival

Architect:  J H Barrow and George O Garnsey of Chicago, Illinois

Contractor:  Elkhart County


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick structure. The building is located on Courthouse Square. The building has a large portico on the east and west sides with three arches on the first story and four columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. The north and south wings are lower. A balustrade runs along the roof line of the centre section of the building. On the center of the roof is a large clock tower with red colored dome and small green cupola at the top. The building was redesigned in 1909 by architect Patton and Miller of Chicago, Illinois and the contractor was P H McCormick of Columbus.


County Courthouse – Elkhart




Location:  315 South 2nd Street / West Franklin Street

Built:  1993 – 1994

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story white colored concrete structure. The east front has a central entrance with a slightly projecting section rising above the roof line and having a recessed entrance. The second story overhangs the recessed first story. There are few windows and roof line is flat. The building is connected on the west side with a two story red colored brick structure built in 1910 to 1911 as the Elkhart High School. The architect was E Hill Turnock.



North – Cass County, Michigan and St. Joseph, Michigan

East   – LaGrange County

South – Kosciusko County

West  – Marshall County and Saint Joseph County






































Photos taken 2008