Saint Joseph County

US States / H-L / Indiana / Saint Joseph County
St. Joseph

Saint Joseph County is named for the Saint Joseph River, which was named for Saint Joseph, who is the patron saint of New France.


Created:  April 1, 1830

County Seat:

St. Joseph    1830 – 1931

South Bend  1831 – present


County Courthouse – South Bend


Location:  101 South Main Street / West Washington Street

Built:  1896 – 1897

Style:  Beaux Arts

Architect:  Charles Allerton Coolidge of Boston, Massachusetts

Contractor:  James Stewart & Company of St. Louis, Missouri.


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story gray stone style structure. The east center section extends from the main building and has a small portico on the first story supported by four columns. At the top of the section is a pediment with clock. The windows on the second story are arched. On the center of the roof is a large dome.


Note:  The cost of construction was $240,000.


Old County Courthouse – South Bend




Location:  112 South Lafayette Boulevard / West Washington Street

Built:  1854 – 1855

Style:  Greek Revival

Architect:  John M Van Osdeland and Olmstead.

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story buff colored brick and stone rectangular structure. The west front has a large portico with six columns rising to a wide pediment at the roof line. On the roof id a square wood cupola. The roof is hipped.


County Administration – South Bend




Location:  227 West Jefferson Boulevard / South Lafayette Boulevard

Built:  1967 – 1969

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Maurer, Van Ryn & Natali, Inc.

Contractor:  Unknown

Description:  The building faces south and is a fourteen story red colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The central tower is rectangular with a flat roof line. On the east and west are three story wings with recessed first story and vertical pillars. The building houses the County and City offices.



N – Berrien County, Michigan and Cass County, Michigan

E – Elkhart County

S – Marshall County and Starke County

W – LaPorte County































Photos taken 2008