Jackson County

US States / H-L / Indiana / Jackson County

Jackson County is named for Andrew Jackson, who defeated the British in 1815 at the Battle of New Orleans in the War of 1812 and who was a President of the United States of America.


Created:  December 18, 1815

County Seat: 

Valonia          1816

Brownstown  1816 – present


County Courthouse – Brownstown


Location:  111 South  Main Street / Walnut Street

Built:  1870 – 1873

Style:  Second Empire and Neo-Classical

Architect:  David Bolen

Contractor:  Travis Carter and Company


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Brownstown. The west front has a portico with four large columns rising to the top of the second story. A wide cornice runs below the roof line. Above the west entrance is a tall square brick clock tower with flat roof. The building was renovated in 1910 to 1911. The architect was Elmer E Dunlap and Marshall E Van Arman and the contractor was Heizmann Brothers.


Note:  The first courthouse was built in Brownstown in 1849. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1870 to 1873.



N – Brown County and Bartholomew County

E – Jennings County and Scott County

S – Scott County and Washington County

W – Lawrence County and Monroe County





County Courthouse – Brownstown










Photos taken 2008